Yoknapatawpha Crossing

I’ve been had

with one comment

As it turns out, hiding in my room all day didn’t work at all. I never even got around to hiding before I’d been hit, and hit hard. At bloody 7:40 in the morning, someone tries to call me not once, not twice, but three times. The third time I finally rolled out of bed and answered it. As you might expect, I’m not the most coherent person in the world right after I’ve been woken up, so bear that in mind. The conversation went roughly like this:

“Whaaa…?”

“Mr. Grady, this is Officer Smith with the police. We were investigating a noise complaint in the attic of your building yesterday, and when we went up there to look around we found some homemade alcohol and what appeared to be a still. Your name came up when we asked around about this, and we need you to come in for questioning.”

Now, I don’t want to admit anything here I might regret later, so let’s just say that this accusation scared the crap out of me.

“I… uh… I have a class at 11….”

“I think this takes precedence over that.”

“Okay….”

“Mr. Grady, are you also aware that today is April Fool’s Day?”

“…….shit.”

Absolutely scared the crap out of me. So while I can neither confirm nor deny the reports of a still being formerly located in the attic, I can happily say that there is not one there currently.

Here’s hoping you had a much quieter awakening.

Written by Daniel Grady

April 1, 2005 at 14:00

Posted in True Stories

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. damn straight bitch. zing!


Leave a Reply

